Australian National Passenger Carriage InformationComrails Logo

These pages contain information about the carriages owned and operated by the Australian National Railways Commission (ANRC), which was owned by the Commonwealth of Australia. It traded under the name "Australian National Railways" (ANR) and "Australian National" (AN)

Its operations extended from Kalgoorlie to Alice Springs and to the boarders with Victoria and New South Wales, as well as all railways in the state of Tasmania. It was formed in 1975 from the former Commonwealth, South Australian (non-suburban) and Tasmanian railways. ANRC took over the operation of the country passenger and goods services in South Australia as from 1st March 1978.

An Logo

On 28 August 1997 the AN freight business was sold to Australia Southern Railroad and the passenger business to Great Southern Railroad